Lessons from Our Daughter – Part II

Sofie at her swim lesson

“Daddy! Daddy! Guess what I did at swim lesson today!” yelled Sofie, our six-year old daughter, as she ran into the kitchen to greet me. My wife, Donna, was left at the driveway carrying her bags.

“What, Baby?” I inquired.

“I swam from one side of the pool to the other! All underwater! I dived like this, watch! Pooossssshhh!!” She then began mimicking freestyle swimming with her arms and head as she walked from one side of the kitchen to the other. The sheer joy and excitement in her face were palpable.

“I got it on video,” Donna said pulling out her camera. So here I was, watching Sofie pretend to swim across the kitchen as I also watched her on my wife’s camera.

As you can see from the video above, she was swimming across the kid’s area of the pool, no more than 8 feet across and 3 feet deep. Even though her form wasn’t perfect, the happiness and sense of play on her face when she demonstrated it in our kitchen was obvious. As Law of Attraction author Esther Hicks says, she was in Her Vortex.

The Universe gives us the instruction manual on how to live our lives in the form of children. Whenever they play or do something new they enjoy, “getting it right” is not the point. Feeling good and having fun is the point. It’s not that they aren’t involved – actually when children play they are very involved with what they are doing. But they do it mostly for the sheer joy of being and then they quickly move on to the next role-play, make-believe, or swim lesson. They are constantly in touch with their own evolving spirit.

As adults, many of us have forgotten that feeling good and being in Our Vortex is the point of life; not paying our bills or worrying about the next step in our careers, or making sure everyone else is happy by adhering to their rules. Because when we are having fun we are the most in touch with our spirit, and thus we are the most alive.

“She’ll get it right eventually,” my wife said watching the video with me.

“She already has,” I replied, feeling my own sense of joy welling in me just watching her… lesson learned.

Writing from My Core,
Mike

One thought on “Lessons from Our Daughter – Part II

Leave a Reply

